Little Swan Lake Winery Estherville, Iowa

On our trip to Terrill, to visit the family, one of our outings was Little Swan Lake Winery in Estherville.  Little did we know that it was the day of their Harvest Festival featuring World Port, Billie James, and Neal Ruge.  Along with a whole other host of goodies.  I desperately wanted to stay to listen to World Port, but my company was getting restless so we left after trying a few different wines.

Now, technically, this isn’t an eating establishment, but it is local and all Iowa.  The beautiful barn turned winery sat as the focal point across from a field where lumbering buffalo roam.  There is a host of different and wonderful wines to chose from and tasting is of course welcome.

Of the wines I was able to try, my favorite was the Concord.  I also enjoyed the Buffalo Blush and Buffalo Frost, one of their signature and award winning wines.  The prices were reasonable on their wines, ranging from their fruit wines starting at $8/bottle to their more traditional (or not) reds for $34.  I honestly found nothing traditional about their wines, at least the ones that I tried, and that was very refreshing.  This is wine you can’t get just anywhere and I’m glad that it’s here in Iowa.

About Marcy

I am a mom, a wife, and right now, a stay at home mom. I like to write, I love my family, which includes our pets. I like coffee, making my own "stuff," knitting, crocheting, baking, coffee, and photography. I have a sharp tongue, I tend to say it like it is, I'm fairly pragmatic, it's part of being from Iowa I guess. I don't take a lot of guff, but I love ferociously.

Posted on September 2, 2008, in Can I Buy You a Drink?, Out of the Box, Winery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

