Fuel Espresso Mount Vernon, Iowa

August 18 2008

Anyone who knows me, knows I have a fascination with Fuel. The place. I can often be seen with a fuel mug or to go cup in my hand on my way to work, on a lazy Sunday Afternoon, on a Saturday getting some work done. I admit it, Fuel is my weakness. The proprietor, Tommie, is one of the nicest people you would ever meet. And if you ever met her mom, (the one who’s great pastry recipes grace the food platters) you’ll know why. And the staff is just as sweet and considerate.

Mount Vernon was chosen as one of Iowa’s Main Street Communities. And Fuel is most definitely a tribute to the town.  Along with other eclectic shops and many antique stores, Mount Vernon is a nice day get away.

Fuel offers several different kinds of independently roasted coffee including: Grumpy Monkey, Organic Love, House, Rocket Fuel, and they make their special Black and Tan. They have a full menu of coffee drinks, hot and cold as well as a counter full of mom’s made from scratch homemade goodness. Which includes fruit cream scones, carrot bars topped with a cream cheese frosting, rice krispie treats, a variety of home made cookies and the occasional Texas Sheet Cake. They also carry an assortment of organic teas, caffeinated and decaf.

The gift part of the shop is just as wonderful. With everything from assorted antique wooden bread bowls to dia de muerto gifts to french soap. If you are looking for something unique, stop here. And have a great cup of joe with a carrot bar.

Kids are always welcome at Fuel, but it’s a little touch and go if you have an antsy toddler from a mom’s point of view. The first time I ever visited fuel, it was after a long walk around Mount Vernon with my then <1 year old child (I think) Anyway, he was in a stroller, a Jeep stroller, made to go on rough terrain. So it’s not small. Tommie, the owner, and her mom welcomed me in and even helped me carry the stroller into the shop. Since then, my son has grown and no longer needs a stroller, and really enjoys going to Fuel. That said, I still keep an eagle eye on him in the shop because he likes all the pretties just as much as mom does 🙂

However, don’t go driving to Mount Vernon expecting Fuel to be open into the wee hours in the morning.  Fuel is open Tuesday through Sunday from 7 AM to 5 PM.  So get your java on early in the day.

About Marcy

I am a mom, a wife, and right now, a stay at home mom. I like to write, I love my family, which includes our pets. I like coffee, making my own "stuff," knitting, crocheting, baking, coffee, and photography. I have a sharp tongue, I tend to say it like it is, I'm fairly pragmatic, it's part of being from Iowa I guess. I don't take a lot of guff, but I love ferociously.

Posted on August 18, 2008, in Family Friendly, Laptops Optional, Out of the Box and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a great place. Do you have a phone number for Fuel?
    Thanks,
    Julia

  2. I should mention that they get their independently roasted coffees from Princeton, NJ. And they don’t MAKE the black and tan, that’s another roast from Princeton’s Small World Coffee.

  3. Can I get access to an application to fuel?

  4. Not only did I find great coffee, pastries, gifts, and charming staff. I found a place that offers spiritual retreat and soul restoration. Love this place! Wish I lived closer.

    • YAY! I’m glad you liked it Michael. Tommie sure is a gem and she has transferred her wonderful energy to her shop. It truly is a retreat 🙂 And thank you for taking the time to comment!!

  5. Un lugar sencillamente encantador.(Marzo 2010)

  6. Someone essentially assist to make seriously posts I would state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far?
    I amazed with the analysis you made to make this particular put up amazing.
    Excellent activity!

  7. Thank you for sharing your information!

  1. Pingback: Welcome to Mount Vernon, Iowa. | Emerald Sunshine

  2. Pingback: Cherry Walnut Scones « Bipedal Madness

Leave a comment